What is Delta migration?
When migrating data, some of our customers continue using their source help desk until all the data is available in the new help desk. In this case, support agents continue receiving and resolving issues in the old system. They can also add and edit articles on the knowledge base.
However, new and updated tickets don’t get automatically moved to the target platform if the migration is already running. The same applies to the knowledge base articles.
Obviously, our customers need these newest updates on the target platform. That’s why we offer such a thing as Delta migration.
How does Delta migration work?
During this process, we remigrate the tickets and knowledge base articles that were updated and also migrate those that were created during the Full migration.
There is no possibility of duplicates when migrating updated tickets and articles as our tool automatically finds the new data in the source platform. Then, the system deletes its copy from the target to move only the updated version of the ticket or article there.
In the case of the newly raised tickets and articles, they simply migrate to the new system.
What is recurring Delta migration?
Often, companies keep running their source help desk after migration and need to move the new tickets from source so their support agents work will them already on the target platform. The recurring Delta meets such a request. You can come us any time, set another migration and map your records. be sure to provide us with your previous Full Data Migration report that includes ticket IDs. (You can download it after your Full Data Migration is complete.)
Thus, not all help desk platforms allow to run the recurring Delta. Contact our migration experts to find out if this option is supported by your data migration platforms.
How much does recurring Delta Migration cost? The recurring Delta is available at an extra charge and isn't included in the Signature package. Each new recurring Delta is charged separately.
Peculiartities of Delta miragtion
Also, remember that if you change the updated ticket or the article anyhow on the target platform, these changes will be deleted. The available version of this ticket or article will only contain the updates made on the source help desk before the Delta migration.
Delta migration is available only in a Signature plan of support offering.