1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Pre-migration Preparation
  4. Why disable Workflow, Scenario Automations, Closure Rules, and Minor Change type in Freshservice?

Why disable Workflow, Scenario Automations, Closure Rules, and Minor Change type in Freshservice?

Freshservice has Workflow Automator (previously Observer) and Scenario Automations that help streamline mundane tasks and increase productivity.

However, if you're migrating to Freshservice that already has active automation rules, the service desk will send email notices to your clients and agents during the Ticket import. You can avoid that by disabling all Workflow and Scenario automations before starting the migration.

Here's how to do it:

1. Log in to Freshservice.

2. Go to the Admin panel.

freshservice admin panel

3. Go to Workflow Automator and disable all active automation rules.

how to disable workflow in freshservice

4. Go to Scenario Automations and document all scenarios and afterward, delete them.

how to disable scenario automations in freshservice

You can keep all scenarios active, but keep in mind that even if you disable Agent Notifications, Freshservice still might send updates during the migration.

Alternatively, you can reach out to the Freshservice support team and ask to turn off all Requester and Agent notifications.

Additionally, if you don’t want your tickets to change status after the Full Data Migration, take the time to disable Closure Rules. This way, you can rest assured as everything that you’ve mapped will remain the same. To do so:

1. Go to the Admin panel and locate Ticket Closure Rules.

freshservice ticket closure rules

2. Disable all the Closure Rules to prevent any unexpected changes in tickets’ statuses.

3. Click Save.

how to disable closure rules in freshservice

Finally, if you also want to migrate the Change category, do not forget to disable the Minor Change type.

After the successful data migration, the Migration Wizard will show you this list of Change entities IDs that have migrated. You can use the list to easily find and check if all the migrated data is in the correct places.

Changes Screenshot

Just in case you forget to disable Minor Change and start the migration of your Change entities, you will see the following message on your screen:

Error Screenshot

So, in order to avoid this error, remember to turn off Minor Change type from Change Lifecycle processes before exporting the Change data. You can easily do it by following these two steps:

1. Go to the Admin panel and click the Change Livecycle button.

Change Lifecycle

2. Disable Minor Change type to make the migration process of your Change go smoothly.

Minor Changes Screenshot

Now, you are all set to continue your Freshdesk data migration. If something wasn’t clear enough or you would like to talk to an expert, feel free to contact us.

Looking for more data migration details?

Let’s talk now
Did this answer your question?
Book a Call
cancel
%s
— %s