1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Pre-migration Preparation
  4. How to disable automatic association of contacts and companies in HubSpot Service Hub

How to disable automatic association of contacts and companies in HubSpot Service Hub

If you have the "Automatically create and associate companies with contacts" setting enabled, HubSpot will check domains of contacts email addresses and create companies if it doesn’t find an existing match. With that setting enabled, after the migration, you will see new companies that HubSpot has automatically created.

Leaving the "Automatically create and associate companies with contacts" setting on may also result in duplication of data, therefore we recommend disabling this feature before and for the time of migration.

How to disable the "Automatically create and associate companies" setting

Step 1. In the top right corner, select Settings.

Step 2. Select Contacts & Companies>Companies. Find Automatically create and associate companies with contacts and switch off the toggle (you know it's off if it's gray).

Automatic creation and association of companies with contacts in HubSpot

HubSpot will automatically save your changes. Now, you may continue your data migration. Should you have any questions? Drop us a message in the live chat.

Looking for more data migration details?

Let’s talk now
Did this answer your question?
Book a Call
cancel
%s
— %s