1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Pre-migration Preparation
  4. How to add users to a project in Jira Service Management

How to add users to a project in Jira Service Management

To migrate to Jira Service Management you need to make sure that:

  • user emails in source help desk and Jira Service Management are an exact match
  • service desk teams have access to the target project in Jira Service Management
  • all necessary users have Service Management Team permissions
  • all necessary users in Jira Service Management have activated their accounts
  • you have enough licenses
  • you’re configuring a classic project

To invite the team on the Project, first of all, you have to create the necessary users in your Jira Service Management account.

How to create users in Jira

To add users to your Jira, follow these steps:

1. Go to Settings > User management.

jira service management user management

2. In the upper right corner, click Invite users.

Invite users to Jira

3. This will take you to a new pop-up window where you can provide up to 10 email addresses of the users you want to migrate, and also set their roles, permissions, add them to Groups, and even create customized invitations. When ready, click Invite * users.

adding users in jira service management

4. Each user must accept the invitation sent to their email to activate their profile in Jira. Remember that the invitation will expire 7 days after it was sent.

How to invite service desk users to projects in Jira

Now that you’ve created all the necessary user profiles, you can invite them to the corresponding Projects. To do this, follow these steps:

1. Go to Settings > Projects to see the whole list of your existing Jira Projects.

jira service management project settings

2. Click on the necessary Project and go to Project settings; People.

jira service management project

jira service management project settings

3. Click the Add people button and input the info of the necessary users to invite to them this project. For all Classic Jira Service Management projects, you must choose the Service Desk Team role to enable the users to manage this project.

Add people to project

How to make the email visible

Also, every user must make their email publicly visible for the time of migration. To do this, go to https://id.atlassian.com/manage-profile/profile-and-visibility.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and in the Contact section select Anyone. 

Profile settings and visibility

Atlassian will automatically save the changes.

You may change this setting to your discretion once the import is complete.

How to remove users from Projects

In case you’ve added the wrong user to a Project, you can remove them. Here’s how to do it:

1. Go to the necessary Project and choose Project settings in the left sidebar.

jira service management project

2. Go to the People section, find the user you want to remove from this Project, and click Remove next to their name.

jira service management remove people from projects

How to deactivate users in Jira Service Management

If you have some users that don’t require access to your Jira at the moment, you can deactivate them. This way, the account won’t be usable until it’s activated again, and their license spot will be free and possible to be replaced by another account. Here’s how to deactivate users in Jira:

1. Go to Settings > User Management.
2. Click on the user account you want to deactivate.

jira service management users

3. Switch the Has access on site toggle to deactivate the user. You will get the notification that the account was deactivated in the lower-left corner.

jira service management user management

Looking for more data migration details?

Let’s talk now
Did this answer your question?
Book a Call
cancel
%s
— %s